jump to navigation

Split Second by David Baldacci August 10, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Action, Adventure, Mystery.
add a comment
Lannigirl
Bellingham
I just finished reading Split Second by David Baldacci. It was an amazing and thrilling book and I can’t wait to read more of the books. Ex secret service agent Sean King has finally begun to have a normal life again after letting the presidential canidate he was guarding get shot. But when a man in Witness Protection turns up dead in his office, his new life comes crashing down around him. At the same time, secret service agent Michelle Maxwelle allows a presidental canidate to comfort a grieving widow, alone, and he ends up being kidnapped. When Michelle looks closer she finds some startling revalations, and those finds bring her together with Sean. Could the assasionation of Clyde Ritter, the abduction of John Bruno, and the murder of several people all be connected? But as the body count rises, they become more and more convinced that this is no coincidence. People are dying, and if they aren’t careful, they might be next. Teaming up with the seductive Joan Dillinger and WITSEC agent Parks, Sean and Michelle find themselves deep in a mystery that has more questions than answers. When more and more people turn up dead, they become frantic to find the mastermind behind all of it. But Sean and Michelle know far to well that everything can change in a split second.
This is an amazing book that I recommend to anybody looking for a good mystery that will keep them up all night. While it’s not overly scary, this book has that deep seductive undercurrent that makes it impossible to put down. I highly suggest this book to everybody.
Advertisements

Motor Mouth by Janet Evanovich. August 7, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Action, Adventure, Mystery.
add a comment
ella

Bookmobile

I just finished reading Motor Mouth by Janet Evanovich. Alex Barnaby (a.k.a. Barney) is Sam Hooker’s head mechanic, and ex-girlfriend. Nicknamed Motor Mouth in the garage, she’s knows a lot about cars, how they work and how to drive them. (Well not so much the driving part…) So she gets real suspicious when car number 69 wins the championship race, and barely knows how to drive. She’s sure he’s cheating. As Hooker and Barney search to find evidence, they end up “borrowing” an eighteen wheeler NASCAR hauler. What they end up realizing is that this hauler not only carries their timid friend Gobbles, but also a dead man. As Hooker and Barney attempt to solve this case, they stumble upon more bodies, a very pissed off widow, and a lot of prunes. A hilarious mystery, Evanovich keeps you wanting more, even when the case is solved… and Hooker is cheered up again. I strongly suggest Evanovich, to anyone in the mood for mystery, humor, and characters you’ll never forget.

Down the Rabbit Hole July 28, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Mystery, Week 7.
add a comment
Lannigirl
Bookmobile
Down the Rabbit Hole is a very good mystery book. Ingrid is in the wrong place at the wrong time. Soon she gets caught up in a murder investigation. But with soccer, homework, and a starring role in Alice in Wonderland, things begin to get a little crazy. Can Ingrid solve this mystery before it’s too late? Can she even survive that long? Can you?
This book is very good, and I suggest it for fans of Sherlock Holmes or Nancy Drew if you are in the mood for a fresh, modern heroin.

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer July 27, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Mystery, vampires, week 6.
add a comment

The book Twilight which is written by Stephenie Meyer is a book i absolutely fell in love with and believe that everyone else should read it too. It is about a seventeen year old girl who’s name is Isabella, Bella for short. In this book Bella moves from Phoenix, Arizona to Forks, Washington because her parents are divorced and she wants to spend some quality time with her dad. As Bella starts school action begins to kick in. Like how mysterious the Cullens are, especially Edward who appears to dislike Bella. Also how the Blacks don’t want Bella getting close to the Cullens and their business and how it’s the same thing with Edward but the other way around. With all this confusion which leads to loads of questions and not answers Bella is determined to find out as much as she can about the Cullens. By now, Bella does not plan to leave one question unanswered.

by: Xiao Jie

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta July 22, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Boarding School Stories, Family/Friendship, Mystery, week 6.
add a comment

summerhippee
Deming

I thought this book was really good. When I first began reading it I thought it was really confusing; it’s the kind of book that doesn’t give you all of the information at once so I was forced to trust that the author would later make it make more sense. Jellicoe Road is about a girl, Taylor, who was abondoned by her mother on Jellicoe Road around the age of eleven and hasn’t seen her since. She lives at a boarding school where a “war” is going on between the six boarding school buildings against the Townies and The Cadets (they are what sound kind of like boy scotts and come for two months or so in the fall). Taylor is the leader of the boarding house kids but when an old accuantance shows up to lead the Cadets, Taylor’s life becomes more confusing than it was. In this amazing novel Taylor tries to learn the secrets of her past and along the way finds some surprising facts about her and her family.

Deception Point by Dan Brown July 21, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Action, Adventure, Mystery, week 6.
1 comment so far

Lannigirl
Central Bellingham Library

Deception Point was a good read, and very interesting, but not quite as plausible as Angels and Demons. Not to say it wasn’t a great book. The Washington Post called it “Unputdownable” and I agree. Rachel Sexton is daughter of the man running for president, but works in a security office– so basically she works for her father’s opponent. When one day the President asks her to meet with him, Rachel suspects a political scheme at work. To her surprise, she is sent to the Arctic Circle to verify a find made by NASA. Needless to say, this is big news, especially since her father is fighting to shut NASA down. At first, all is as it seems. But when she and the handsome Michael Tolland find the unthinkable– evidence that NASA and the president are being tricked– they are forced to fight for their lives while being pursued by a deadly force known only as ‘Delta’. With the presidential election balancing on the tip of a knife, something like this could force one man into the light, or crush another’s campaign. Rachel and Michael are left with only one option: discover who is behind this. But that just might be the greatest deception of all…

With nothing but the astounding writing I’d expect from Dan Brown, Deception point is a thrill ride from start to finish. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in politics, aliens, deceit, special opps, or any kind of action.

Angels and Demons by Dan Brown July 21, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Action, Better than the movie, Intense, Mystery, Myth Related, Not for young kids!!, week 6.
1 comment so far

Lannigirl
Central Bellingham Library
 
For those of you who think that you don’t have to read this book because you saw the movie, tear that idea out of you head and throw it to the wolves. This book is absolutely amazing. When a religious scientist is brutally murdered and branded with the symbol of an ancient demonic cult, Robert Langdon gets called in to identify the group. What he discovers sends shockwaves through the world: the Illuminati, a thought-to-be-dead group of scientists bend on bringing down the Catholic church– specifically Vatican City. Teaming up with the smart, sexy scientist, Vittoria Vetra and the Swiss Guard, they find that at every hour starting at 8:00, a cardinal will be killed. At precisely midnight, a bomb made up of antimatter is set to destroy Vatican City. To make matters worse, conclave is being held, meaning that every Catholic cardinal belonging to the church is sitting on top of a bomb. Chasing after shadows and ancient secrets, together Robert and Vittoria fight for the truth, and make the most startling revelation of all.

Dan Brown is an amazing author with a great gift for making an everything seem real. I highly recommend his books for anyone who wishes to be pulled into a story so captivating that it’s impossible to put down.

First Family July 18, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Adventure, Mystery, Stay up all night, week 5.
add a comment

ella
Bookmobile
I finished reading First Family by David Baldacci a few days ago. It was as thrilling, complicated, and extraordinary as the three previous adventures of his, involving Sean King and Michelle Maxwell. When a member of the first family is kidnapped, the first lady asks private investigator -and old friend- Sean King to find the victim. As King and his partner, Maxwell, embark on this journey they find deception in the scariest of places, and soon realize it’s not going to be some simple case. This kidnapper is smart, and has a pretty good incentive for what he’s doing…
I seriously recommend all books by David Baldacci. He is an exceptional writer; I hope everyone who enjoys a good, long read can get their hands on one of his novels. You will not be disappointed!

Simple Genius by David Baldacci July 13, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Action, Adventure, Must Read, Mystery, week 4.
add a comment

ella

Bookmobile
I just finished reading Simple Genius by David Baldacci. The novel can be a little confusing at times, considering it’s actually an adult book and we’re not all quantum physics geniuses. But other than that Baldacci lives up to his name. Michelle Maxwell has become a little suicidal. After her last case she doesn’t  know who she can trust (other than Sean) and doesn’t believe she can trust her judgement anymore. After trying to get herself killed in a bar, she is placed in a facility for people struggling from a range of things. Her psychologist, Horatio Barnes, was hired by King to help her overcome her demons. So while Maxwell is in a facility for crazy people King is trying to solve a murder/suicide? case at legendary Babbage Town. But after a second murder and getting shot at from the CIA department across the river, King realizes this isn’t going to be some easy case. And what’s he going to do when his partner shows up, not completely cured?
An amazing novel, I seriously devoured most of it in one sitting. Baldacci’s writing should almost be mandatory for everyone to read, it’s so well written. Simple Genius is a thrilling, twisted novel like all the ones before it.

Split Second, Hour Game July 13, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Action, Adventure, Must Read, Mystery, week 4.
add a comment

ella
Bookmobile

I thrilling sequel to Split Second, Hour Game by David Baldacci continues the adventures of ex-Secret Service agents now gone private investigators, Sean King and Michelle Maxwell. Fast paced and extremely well written, it explains the mystery of the Battle family. A serial killer is on the loose, but is killing a number of different kinds of people; there doesn’t seem to be a pattern to the killings. One day the famous Mr. Bobby Battle is killed in his hospital bed, but doesn’t stick to the pattern of the previous killings. More murders transpire, but there seems to be more than one killer now…
King and Maxwell need to solve this crazy mystery before it’s too late. But they soon learn some stunning things, and realize they can trust no one but each other.
An amazing mystery, I couldn’t put the novel down! I wasn’t really into crime mystery until I started reading Dan Brown and David Baldacci. Now it’s one of my favorite things to read. Baldacci’s books (at least the stories with King and Maxwell) are a must read; he’s one of the best storytellers of our time.