jump to navigation

Flight of the Fisherbird by Nora Martin July 29, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Action, Historical, Week 7.
1 comment so far
Lannigirl
Bellingham
It is 1889, and Clem Nesbitt’s life in the beautiful San Juan islands is near perfect. But then her newly orphaned cousin Sarah comes to stay, followed by Clems Uncle Doran, and things become, well, fishy. While out in her boat, the Fisherbird, Clem sees two boat dangerously close together. One of them appears to be her Uncle’s boat. Shouts and splashing noises stun her into silence. It sounds like someone went overboard. As the boats drift off, Clem goes to investigate, and spots something brown floating in the water. After pulling it aboard, she finds a live chinese man wrapped in a burlap suck! He was trying to be smuggled into the country illegally, after the Scott Act of !888 prohibited chnese to return to the country. But what does this all mean, and how is Uncle Doran involved?
This book is great, and takes place right here on our own San Juan Islands. It also is historically accurate, but not boring in the least. It is a thrilling story, with a twisted ending. I highly suggest it to everybody who wants to learn about history in the least boring way.

Chasing the Moon by Penny Chamberlain July 29, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Historical, Week 7.
add a comment
Lannigirl
Bellingham
This is another great historical book. It takes place on the Saanich Peninsula in Canada in 1924. Kit returns to live with her dad whilst her mother is ill. She is sad to find how far he’s let the farm slip. The only new things are a brand new boat and a shiny padlock on the barn door. Her father says it’s for ‘night fishing’ but there’s not a scrap of evidence– no fishy smell of even a scale! There’s something wierd going on though. Then a mysterious stranger shows up and offers to help dig a well. But more is going on than what meets the eye, and when Kit’s father comes home with a bullet in his arm one night, Kit decides to take action. Along the way she meets Roy Olmestead, the most famous rum runner of all. Roy is a good character, and the only person in the book that is not fictitous. This is a great book set in the roaring twenties, when rum-runners stole through the waters off souther British Columbia in hopes of selling their wares in America, where alcohol was prohibited. Historically accurate, this book is very interesting and teaches a lot about how goods are smuggled between countries. The black trade is still in buisiness, though now the boats are smuggling illegal immigrants and drugs. You can be sure that at night when your sleeping, a boat is making it’s way accross the murky waters, and chasing the moon.

Magyk by Angie Sage July 28, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Boring, Didn't like it, Fantasy, Week 7.
add a comment
Lannigirl
Bookmobile
All in all, this was not the best book. One night, a seventh son of a seventh son disappears, supposedly dead. The same night, the baby’s father finds a baby girl lying in the snow. But what really happened? This book is kind of confusing and not very entertaining. In my opinion, the series gets proggressivly worse as it moves on, to the point where I stopped in the middle of the third book. It’s not the best, and I would not recommend this book.

The woman in the wall by patrice kindl July 28, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Heartwarming, Week 7.
1 comment so far
Lannigirl
Bookmobile
Anna is shy. So shy that she is practically invisible. Nobody seems to see, hear, or pay attention to her. To avoid facing school, one day seven year old Anna creates her own little safe zone inside the walls of their victorian mansion. Little by little, her family forget her very existance. The years go by, with Anna literally living between the walls of the house. One day, a note is thrust into a crack, and left for her to find. Her small world is changing, and Anna must decide whether or not to come out of hiding. This book is sweet and heartfelt, though not truly memorable. I would recommend it to girls looking for something to read on a rainy day with nothing else to do.

Esperenza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan July 28, 2009

Posted by Aubri in A Favorite, Historical, Realistic, Week 7.
add a comment
Lannigirl
bookmobile
Esperenza believed that she would be rich forever. That Papa would always be with her. That her house would be filled with food and beautiful clothes. That she would always be safe from the world. But then a tragedy forces Esperenza and her mother to flee to California, and work on a large plantation. Life is hard, and Esperenza sees a whole new side of life– a life of poverty and hard work. But when Mama becomes ill, it’s up to Esperenza to save her, even though the Great Depression and worker strikes threaten to bring them down. Can this rich girl rise to the challange?
This is a lovely and inspirational book that I suggest everyone read. It is wonderfully written and uplifting.

Down the Rabbit Hole July 28, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Mystery, Week 7.
add a comment
Lannigirl
Bookmobile
Down the Rabbit Hole is a very good mystery book. Ingrid is in the wrong place at the wrong time. Soon she gets caught up in a murder investigation. But with soccer, homework, and a starring role in Alice in Wonderland, things begin to get a little crazy. Can Ingrid solve this mystery before it’s too late? Can she even survive that long? Can you?
This book is very good, and I suggest it for fans of Sherlock Holmes or Nancy Drew if you are in the mood for a fresh, modern heroin.

Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson July 28, 2009

Posted by Aubri in A Favorite, Realistic, Week 7.
add a comment
Lannigirl
Bookmobile
This is a touching story that will reach the hearts of anyone who has ever been overshadowed, whether by a sibling, friend, or anyone. Louise is sick of her twin sister Catherine. Catherine is beautiful, Catherine is pretty and frail. Catherine is talented. Catherine is better. Growing up on the small island of Rass, Catherine seems to take everything. Their parent’s love, her chances of an education, her childhood dreams. And worst of all, she’s right! Her parents really do pay more attention to Catherine. People give Catherine chances that would never be offered to Louise. And Catherine expects these things. can Louise escape? Does she want to?
This is an amazing book, and I think everyone should read it.

The Cry of the Icemark by Stuart Hill July 28, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Best All Time Reads, Fantasy, Week 7.
1 comment so far
Lannigirl
Bookmobile
This is one of my all-time favorite stories. Princess Thirrin Freer Strong-In-The-Arm Lindenshield, Wildcat of the North, is forced to lead the small country of Icemark when her father is killed in battle. With the brutally strong Polypontian Empire to the south, and the terrifying Land of the Ghosts to the north, Thirrin has a lot to handle. But when the Empire’s fiercest general, Scipio Bellorum, threatens to invade, she must turn to old enemies for any chance at survival. But when that’s not enough, she must travel farther than she dared dream before, in hopes of once and for all finding an ally strong enough to defeat Scipio. It will take all her courage, strenth, and will, but in the end, will they survive?
This book is beautifully written, and Thirrin is an admirable heroin. I highly recommend this book to anyone.

Life of Pi July 28, 2009

Posted by Aubri in Serious, Survival, Week 7.
add a comment
Lannigirl
bookmobile
Life of Pi was an interesting book. The beginning is long and overworked, filled with lots of almost useless blabs about religion and life as a zookeepers son. Pretty boring stuff, in my opinion. But about 100 pages in, it gets interesting. Sixteen year old Piscine is trapped on a life raft with a hyena, a zebra with a broken leg, and orang-utan, and a 250-pound tiger named Richard Parker. As expected, the hyena eats the zebra and orang-utan, and Richard Parker eats the hyena. Surprisingly enough, Pi and the tiger come to some sort of understanding, and they live in harmony. But life at sea is a dangerous thing. Soon they are almost dead. But nothing is stronger than their will to survive. This is the true story of a boy who survived seven months in a life boat with a tiger. While it may seem impossible, this story is one of survival, even in the face of death. I highly recommend this book for anyone who is in the mood for a serious read. People who don’t like blood or are squeamish should pass this one by. Yann Martel captures the story really well, and is not afraid to describe things in detail. The ending may not be satisfactory, but at least it’s true.

173 Posts…and week 7 begins! July 27, 2009

Posted by Aubri in From your teen librarian.
4 comments

This has been a fantastic summer….we have had 21 teens posting from all over the county.

We have two weeks left as our last prize draw is Aug. 10th.  You can still send in reviews until the end of August, but I will be out of prizes!

Now the original challenge of 400 posts seems like it would be crazy to try and get to in two weeks…and I have to tell you I have been really impressed with the quality of your postings.  I wouldn’t want you all to just buzz through your books and email me any old thing in order to just get something up on the blog.

SO here is what I plan.  If you hit 200 posts by Aug. 10th…I will post a video of myself doing the moon walk in the lion costume.  Maybe not a full blown hip hop dance…but hey I will still look pretty foolish!  27 posts in 2 weeks?  I guess we’ll see…!